Mayor and City Council

The Columbia City Council meets the third Thursday of the month at 6:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers of the City Hall, 1840 Second Street, Columbia City. City Council agendas are prepared and posted prior to meetings and are available at City Hall. Public comments are taken at City Council meetings. Questions or comments may be submitted by calling (503) 397-4010, or in writing to PO Box 189, Columbia City, Oregon 97018. City Council meeting minutes are usually available one week following the meeting date.

The City has operated under a mayor-council form of government since 1926. Policymaking and legislative authority are vested in the City Council, which consists of a Mayor and a four-member City Council. The City Council is responsible, among other things, for passing ordinances, adopting the budget, appointing committees and hiring the City’s administrator and other employees. The Mayor and Council are elected on a non-partisan basis. Council members are elected to four-year staggered terms with two Council members elected every two years. The Mayor is elected to a four-year term. The Mayor and the Council members are elected at large.

KATRINA CLARIDGE – Mayor. Appointed by City Council as Mayor November 16, 2023 after the passing of the previous Mayor. Present term expires December 31, 2024. She previously served on City Council from January 21, 2021 to November 16, 2023. She serves as Chair on the Parks Committee. She was raised in Columbia City, is a graduate of St Helens High School.

ROB FORMAN – Council President. Elected in November 2022, and took office in January 19, 2023. Present term expires December 31, 2026. He is the Council President and serves as Chair on the Streets Committee and is also on the Audit Committee. After graduating St. Helens High School he attended University of Portland where he obtained a Bachelors of Accounting. He currently manages a team of 7 financial analysts for a well-known national health insurance agency providing financial oversight and reconciliation while specializing in debt and loan management. He is a proud father of one, husband and budding gardener.

JEFF REINAN – Councilor. Elected in November 2020, and took office on January 21, 2021. Present term expires December 31, 2024. He serves on the Parks Committee. After graduating high school he moved to Monmouth and attended Oregon College of Education, later becoming involved in the construction industry. He eventually retired from the carpenters union and is enjoying retirement while staying connected to his family, and also becoming an avid golfer. “I ran for the council position as a way to get involved in the community that I live in. The City has given a lot to me and I am trying to give back”.

GORDON THISTLE – Councilor. Appointed to the City Council on September 4, 2014. Elected in November of 2014, 2018 and 2022. Present term expires December 31, 2026. He serves as Chair on the Water and Sewer Committee. Gordon retired from owning a construction and industrial equipment brokerage company and equipment rental company.  He is an active supporter of the Columbia City Community Library, and founder and coordinator of the annual Show & Shine car show, which attracted 155 cars during the 2015 Columbia City Celebration.

CONNIE QUICK – Councilor. Appointed to the City Council on January 25, 2024. Present term expires December 31, 2024. She serves on the Hazard Mitigation Planning Group. Connie has been a resident of Columbia City for over 37 years and retired from Columbia River PUD. She is excited to be more involved in the community and believes this is a great way to make a positive impact.